Skip to content

Community Recognition

Brockville and District Shrine Club Walk of Honour

The Brockville and District Shrine Club unveiled its “Walk of Honour” at a special ceremony on October 15. One of the major pillars in Shriners is making a positive difference in the lives of children through their leadership. Shriners in 2022 will have had a presence in this community for 100 years. This Walk of Honour recognizes community leaders and others who in many cases have provided leadership to make things happen and most importantly keep us all safe and healthy. This Walk is a public way of showing the Club’s thanks and appreciation.

Dr. Paula Stewart, Medical Officer of Health was honoured at the ceremony: “I am very pleased to report that the Brockville and District Shrine Club has included my name in the Walk of Honour at their building in Brockville at 16 Reynolds Avenue. The Walk of Honour was created to: “Honour outstanding community leaders who have led us through this pandemic, and who contributed to our club.” This reflects the work we have done together as a Health Unit.”

2021 Community Builder of the Year Award (CBYA)

On the morning of October 5 at the This is Community event, more than 150 people came together virtually with hosts Stefan Keys and Suzanne Pinel to honour outstanding individuals across the region for their contributions to make our neighbourhoods stronger, safer, and healthier during times of crisis and beyond. As part of the event, United Way bestowed its top honour – the Community Builder of the Year Award (CBYA) – to our region’s four Medical Officers of Health and their respective teams, for their continued efforts in bringing equity and social justice into health care practices, especially during COVID-19.

Dr. Robert Cushman and the Renfrew County and District Health Unit, Dr. Vera Etches and Ottawa Public Health, Dr. Paul Roumeliotis and the Eastern Ontario Health Unit, and Dr. Paula Stewart and the Leeds, Grenville, and Lanark District Health Unit were present to accept the award.